RSS

New York Auto Show 2008

25 Mar

I love cars. I love to look at them. I like to drive them and ride in them. I really like to look at them, especially new designs.

This BMW concept of the new CS really hit the drool button. Yes I know, fine wine tastes and a beer budget.

Other notables:

The Suzuki Kizashi concept that made you look twice at the manufacturer name, Suzuki? Wow.

I like the double back doors on the John Cooper Works Clubman concept. The black stripes are very fetching.

I don’t even know what to say about the new Scion Hako Coupe except ew. Not a very attractive design, couldn’t be very aerodynamic with that square windshield. I know the look they’re going for, but I don’t think it got there.

The Dodge Challenger is very retro with chrome gas cap and all. Very nice, but obviously a rehash.

There were some interesting takes on the electric car this year, the Mitsubishi, i-MiEV sport being my favorite. I like the fact that they incorporated a little more snaz with the mustang like feature down the side and they didn’t box the back of the vehicle off as you see on so many electric or hybrid vehicles.

I was “meh” about the Acura, the Hyundai, Kia, & Saab (I never could dig the design & I’m not sure you should market clothing while you’re trying to pitch the car, seems desperate)

The new New York Taxi concept from Ford may be ugly, but it has very convenient features: sliding doors, back doors that open, and a card swipe for the passenger’s use. Ugly, but pretty cool.

This, this could only have come from Pontiac. I was looking at the “new” Solstice and came across this “Sport Truck”. It must be a terrible sinking feeling when 50 Cent becomes your pitchman. I never understood this car/pickup design idea. It’s not very good looking and it just seems that it would lack in both areas. Of course, I guess, if you’re just looking for a place to put the speakers then I say go for it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “New York Auto Show 2008

  1. Ariel

    March 27, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Check out this site for new car design:

    http://www.local-motors.com

    This site is a platform for car aficionados to support new car design and the car designers who create them.

    Web 2.0 for car design, community supported completely – but it is a new community.

    Ya know, I love El Caminos. I think they are beautiful if not impractical. The sport truck is just impractical. As for 50, if he has to pose for Pontiac to support his Bentley… so be it!

    Cheers!

    Ariel

    p.s. Full disclosure, I do work for Local Motors. As a young community, we welcome your declarative voice!

     
  2. cravensworld

    March 27, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Hey awesome Ariel, nice site. Thanks for droppin by!

     

Leave a Reply

 
