RSS

Sarah Palin

04 Sep
Sarah Palin Vice Presidential nominee

Sarah Palin Vice Presidential nominee

It’s not her lack of experience that freaks me out, it’s her stance on pretty much everything (anti-science, anti-environment, anti-choice, anti-press freedom). The problem is, she seems so nice, so average. But ask yourself this how many “average hockey moms” do you see running for mayor, running an oil commission, being governor and becoming a vice presidential nominee? I’d wager not so many.

My knee jerk reaction to her appointment was “oh come on GOP, you can do better than that, how cheap.” My initial thought was that it was all a ploy to get the Hillary vote. But surely former Hillary supporters are smarter than that?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Sarah Palin

  1. Dylan

    September 4, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    I think it’s not how smart former Hillary supporters are. I think that if they support the ticket because Palin is on it, there will be good reasons:

    I suspect there is a whole lot of woman voters who will vote for the McCain-Palin ticket because she is on it. Because she typifies more of the ideals and the real lifestyle of the average American woman. She knows firsthand the challenge of raising a family and making ends meet. She shares their frustration over the typical political rhetoric that comes out of Washington these days. She is one of them.

    I like her for my own reasons too:
    http://murphystavern.net/index.php/hooked-on-a-feeling/

    And on the question of Hillary’s supporters, how many of them indicated support for the Democratic ticket because they thought Hillary would be at the top of it?

     
  2. cravensworld

    September 4, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Well, maybe I was harsh about the intelligence of Hillary’s supporters. I don’t understand how they could vote for someone who is against everything they are for as feminists.

     
  3. Dylan

    September 5, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Well, maybe all of Hillary’s supporters are not feminists.

    There are still two months until Election Day, so some of those Hillary supporters who are threatening to defect, may not do so.

    Presidential elections rarely turn on one issue. Perhaps those Hillary supporters may find some redeeming qualities in Mrs. Palin.

    Are there not feminists who also would have brought the Downs Syndrome baby to full term and life. Is that not a pro-life option?

    Can you not support offshore drilling and still be pro-environment?

    On your charge of “anti press freedom,” I don’t understand the point you’re making. Do you have an example?

     
  4. Dylan

    September 5, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    I just came across this and so to add a postcript to our previous exchange, wanted to include it here for your consideration:

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB122057410046101771.html?mod=djemEditorialPage

     
  5. cravensworld

    September 5, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    “Are there not feminists who also would have brought the Downs Syndrome baby to full term and life. Is that not a pro-life option?”

    Not sure what you are getting at here Dylan. Are you saying that if she was pro-choice she would have terminated the pregnancy because the child would have a disorder?

    But as to her being a environmentally friendly oil driller, well just google her name and you’ll find numerous examples of her “screw the polar bears” mentality.

    It’s pretty much a hunch that Palin is anti-press (unless it is good press I’m sure) but I think it’s a pretty good one considering her current anger at the media concerning her pregnant daughter. Politicians need to kill their righteous anger when the press busts them for illegal or bad behavior and reports what is common knowledge in their own home town. It just makes them look like they have something deeper to hide. Like I said, just a hunch, but I’ll bet I’m right.

     
  6. Scout

    September 5, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Um, changing subject for just a brief second here but……HAPPY BIRTHDAY, BADGER!!!!

     
  7. cravensworld

    September 5, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Dylan,
    Read the link. Glad I was able to read it in bits and pieces instead of hearing it all in one chunk. I don’t have anything personal against Sarah Palin. I bet we could get on well if we stuck to talk about fishing. I don’t like her politics. None. Not at all. If she brought it up I would throw her out of the boat and make her swim home. That’s how against her politics I am. Not saying she’s not a real go getter with ambition and guts, just saying I got my fingers crossed that she goes back to Alaska and stays there.

     
  8. cravensworld

    September 5, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Thanks Scout!

     
  9. Dylan

    September 6, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Forgive me. I misspoke.

    I meant to say:

    “Are there not feminists who also would have brought the Downs Syndrome baby to full term and life. Is that not a PRO-CHOICE (not pro-life) option?”

    Mrs. Palin could have decided to bring the baby to life, just as she did, and that would have been her prerogative as a pro-choicer. But because she is a newcomer to the national stage, there is a tendency to attach labels to her based on the first things we’ve learned about her a la ‘she brought a Down Syndrome baby to life so she is staunch pro-life.’

    The greater point (the one I sadly failed to make originally) is that the press particularly, is quick to associate her with unpleasant positions or unpopular causes. They engage in and promote gossip and innuendo. It is a failing of journalistic integrity and even more, a lapse in human fairness.

    Harsh criticisms and attacks leveled against her before we can really know who she is are disingenuous. And they do little more than to expose the blatant partisan nature of the national media.

    For my part, I am better able to tell you more of what I think of Mrs. Palin after I have taken a little time to know her. And unless you ’86’ me from your blog, I look forward to doing so.

     
  10. cravensworld

    September 8, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Dylan,
    Nah no 86 here. You are pretty reasonable in your discussion which is a treat when you consider what I usually get from people who disagree. Drop by any time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
