RSS

Billed to Death: feel the electricity

15 Jan

floored
All I can say is that when me and Sweetie got our last electric bill we sat in stunned silence. The we burst into mutual profanity, “Holy fuckin’ shit, what the hell!? How!? Why?” Damn! Damn! Damn!” We’ve been robbed!”
After the dust settled Sweetie went on a caulking gun rampage and I started asking around.
What I found out is that that 20% increase from TVA looks really huge in the winter. Somehow 20% starts to look more like 50% and everybody is having high bills. For instance, in the apartment I used to live in, I never got a bill over $120 and that was dead winter. The Nice Young Man that lives there now says that it has doubled. I asked The Farmers and they had a $400 light bill (well, they do live in an old farm house). In fact most people I have talked to have complained that the cost is almost prohibitive. But there are odd exceptions: The Young Marrieds with their 20 computers that stay plugged in and on. The Neighbor Landlord who lives right next to us. Neither of them have these freakish bills. Why?

All I can hope is that next month our bill will actually be from the planet of reasonable numbers.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Billed to Death: feel the electricity

  1. Elizabeth

    January 15, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    I don’t know why The Young Married don’t have a high electric bill. I’m extremely thankful, but you would think that if everyone saw a big jump in their electric bill, then we would too.

    I looked at the electric bill more closely before I posted this and found a few odd things. Look at your bill and see if it says the same thing.

    1.) Last month’s bill was for 28 days and we paid $100.25. This month’s bill was for 32 days and was for $92.63.
    2.) The daily charge for usage went DOWN between last month and this month. Last month was $3.58 per whatever they charge by. This month was $2.89 per whatever they charged.

    I hate to see what everyone bill is going to look like tomorrow since the highest it got today was 20 degrees. However, I’m sure I’ll cry to you once I receive my gas bill this month.

    That reminds me, I need to research on the net to see where I can sell organs.

     
  2. Amber

    January 16, 2009 at 2:28 am

    Wow – you guys are paying 20% for the TVA spill? That’s insane!

     
  3. cravensworld

    January 16, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    @Amber, the 20% increase came in October before the spill, so we haven’t begun to pay for that yet.

    @elizabeth, interesting, I’ll have to look at that

     
  4. Sweetie

    January 21, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    This is good. I feel like I should be wearing worn out coveralls, lol. You make me sound like a true Redneck. Well, I guess I am. Oh Lord, I am still laughing about the caulk gun thing. You’re great, Honey. Don’t forget about the hard time we had PLASTICATING the windows.

     

Leave a Reply

 
